Astronauts Jeffrey N. Williams (Col., USA), Sunita L. Williams (Cmdr., USN) and Russian cosmonaut Konstantin M. Kozeev (RSC-Energia) have been appointed to serve as the backup crew for the International Space Station Expedition 10.

Jeff Williams, a U.S. Military Academy graduate, will be the backup Station Commander. He previously flew aboard STS-101 as a mission specialist. Sunita Williams, a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, and Kozeev will train as Space Station Flight Engineers. Selected in the astronaut class of 1998, she will be a first-time flier. Kozeev previously flew as a member of the Soyuz 3 Taxi crew in 2001.

The prime crew for Expedition 10 is Commander Leroy Chiao, NASA Space Station Science Officer John L. Phillips and Flight Engineer Salizhan S. Sharipov.

For complete biographical information on the Expedition 10 crews, and other active astronauts, see the NASA Internet biography page:

For information about current and former astronauts, visit the Astronaut Biography page: